Chocolate chip-peanut chickpea cookies.

dav

Today’s blogpost takes you to cookies via a short detour featuring curry. I still need to blog about my go-to vegetable curry, as I promised some friends who requested the recipe after having enjoyed that dish at our dinner table, but that won’t be today (sorry friends! but I will, soon!). No, the detour is all about Miriam Sorrell’s (aka the Mouthwatering Vegan’s) wonderfully luscious and creamy curry with eggplant, potato and chickpeas. That curry is only one of an entire chapter on curries in the Mouthwatering Vegan cookbook, and one I had not made until two days ago. Although the ingredient list will not blow you away (for a curry, it’s relatively short), the aroma of this dish certainly will. You do have to be a star anise lover, though, in order to appreciate it. If you are, have a look at this page, where you’ll find the recipe (but ignore the pics or the video, as I find the curry presented there not entirely true to the recipe’s essence; the sauce should really be thick and creamy, and on that page it looks rather thin) – or click the link above (direct link from the author’s own page) which will lead you to the cookbook itself, which is totally worth its money.

eggplant chickpea potato coconut curry mouthwatering vegan.jpeg

Eggplant, potato and chickpea curry       (splendid recipe by Miriam Sorrell – not that splendid photo by me)

You might wonder how this detour will eventually lead us to cookies, but it’s a actually quite a short step from curries to cookies, and the link between both is CHICKPEAS.

I used a can of chickpeas in the curry, saved the drained liquid (or aquafaba), and thought about a way to put it to use. As usual, I came up with something sweet, and this time it was something I had been wanting to try for quite a long time: chickpea flour-based cookies. I had seen some on Vegan Richa’s page, and also on Oatmeal with a Fork, and I could not wait to start experimenting myself. So using the above recipes as a starting point and inspiration, I came up with a recipe for chocolate chip-peanut cookies which I made with my daughter’s assistance. I got help from both my children as  soon as we got to the point of eating them – they were gone in no time, and I’ll soon be baking more. As soon as there is a new load of peanuts in the house.

One would never guess these cookies are actually gluten-free and do not contain regular flour. A giveaway is the raw batter, though. Do NOT taste it (if you do, you’ll seriously regret it)! Refrain from licking your fingers until you have actual baked cookies in your hands.

dav

chocolate chip-peanut chickpea cookies

  • Print

Ingredients

  • 6 TB aquafaba
  • 1 TB pure peanut butter
  • 2/3 cup (or ca. 1,6 dl) coconut oil: softened, but not warm (otherwise the chocolate chips will melt)
  • 2/3 cup (or ca. 1,6 dl) dark muscovado sugar
  • 1 1/2 cup (or ca. 3,6 – 3,7 dl) chickpea flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla (use real vanilla powder if you have it)
  • 2/3 cup (or ca. 1,6 dl) chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup (or ca. 1,2 dl) peanuts (unsalted)

Directions

  • Mix all ingredients until you get a non-sticky, elastic and easy to handle dough. Divide the dough into 16 portions (a heaped TB per portion) and roll into balls. Let sit for an hour, then flatten them and bake for about 14 minutes on 175 degrees C.

 

  • Note 1: I put the dough in the freezer for 45 min, then baked the cookies, and my initial ‘fear’ that the cookies would flatten out too much (because of the coconut oil) proved totally unjustified. I actually had to help the cookies a hand in flattening out, with a spatula.
  • Note 2: You can substitute the peanut butter by other nut butter (I tried hazelnut-almond), the peanuts by other nuts, and the dark chocolate by vegan white chocolate (I did the latter in the hazelnut-almond version).
  • Note 3: It is possible to replace the muscovado sugar by a liquid sugar such as maple syrup, BUT you will have to increase the amount chickpea flour. I tried a maple syrup version, and had to use 2,5 cups chickpea flour, and the dough was still too sticky to roll. So I scooped the portions, froze them for an hour (as I did with the muscovado-based cookies), and then  reshaped them a bit and baked them. Also these needed to be flattened by a spatula during the baking process (which means you can just go ahead and flatten them before baking them.))

dav

2 thoughts on “Chocolate chip-peanut chickpea cookies.

Leave a Reply

