Tofu scramble mix.

dav

A short while ago – when blogging about sweet and sour vegan meatballs with vegetable fried rice – I promised I’d post my recipe for the perfect tofu scramble mix. OK, perhaps I’m exaggerating just a little bit, since perfect does not exist, but this comes pretty close, I swear.

I think I was well into my 8th year as a vegan when I first ate scrambled tofu. Of course, I’d read about it, but something deep inside of me was pretty sceptical. So I did nothing with all the recipes I had around. Until one day, when there was a vegan parent/children meetup and potluck in the outskirts of Stockholm, with lots of children, lots of parents, and lots of delicious food. Someone had brought tofu scramble, and all my previous distrust melted like snow. This stuff was awesome! And so though my daughter, who ate half a plate of it (she 1,5 at the time).

Still I did not make it at home, though. It would take me my next trip to Berlin shortly after to finally make me do so. There, in one of the fantastic Veganz supermarkets, I found a so-called tofu scramble mix: just add some to your tofu, and you’re done. Tempting indeed. But pricey! So I had a look at the ingredients list – hey, I had all of these in my pantry! – and juggled with the quantities. And tadaa, the tried and tested result you’ll find below.

dav

Tofu scramble mix

Ingredients

  • 1/2  cup French fried onions
  • 1,5 tbsp kala namak (black salt, which looks PINK, and has an egglike taste/smell)
  • 1,5 tbsp turmeric
  • 3/4 tbsp sweet paprika
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp chili
  • 1 tbsp potato starch

Instructions

Add all ingredients to your food processor and mix. Ready to use!

When making tofu scramble, just heat some olive oil, crumble a block of tofu into the skillet, add some teaspoons or tablespoons  – according to your own liking – of the above mix, until your scramble looks and especially tastes the way you like it. You may of course add extra salt or herbs, or finely cut veggies. And you can use it plain in this fried rice.

dav

Leave a Reply

